Denmark has won the world-famous Bocuse d’Or culinary competition, with Norway taking home the silver prize and Hungary scooping bronze.

The 2023 contest took place at the Salon International de la Restauration in Lyon, and placed a hefty emphasis on the important role nutrition plays in children’s health. In the ‘Feed the Kids’ test, participants had to imagine a creative and original three-course meal based on marrow.

This year, the competition had a theme of fairy tales and the chefs, representing 24 nations around the world, were also tasked with including egg in their main dishes.

The honorary president was three-starred chef Dominique Crenn, who is based in San Francisco, while the 2021 Bocuse d’Or winner Davy Tissot headed up the jury, which included the likes of Alexandre Mazzia, of AM by Alexandre Mazzia,  and Stéphanie le Quellec, of La Scène Paris.

Related articles:

The Bocuse d’Or, which was founded by legendary chef Paul Bocuse in 1987, takes place every two years and is considered one of the most prestigious cooking competitions in the world.

Denmark’s Brian Mark Hansen, who is head chef at the one-Michelin-star Søllerød Kro, in Copenhagen, and whose Bocuse d’Or menu was inspired by Danish fairy tale legend Hans Christian Andersen, said of his win: “I have dreamed of this for 20 years.” As well as the trophy, he and his team take home €20,000.

Hansen is renowned for his unique style and insists on using exclusively seasonal products. He is considered one of Denmark’s most prominent culinary artists.

Sven Erik Renaa, a member of the tasting jury, said: “The Bocuse d’Or is really the most important cooking contest in the world… This contest is unique and enables us chefs to see the latest trends in cooking, the influences and techniques.”

The 2023 winners:

  • Bocuse d’or: Brian Mark Hensen, Denmark
  • Silver Bocuse: Filip August Bendi, Norway
  • Bronze Bocuse: Bence Dalnoki, Hungary
  • Best Commis: Leon Haarberg Nilsen, Norway
  • Prize for the ‘feed the kids’ menu: Nais Pirollet, France
  • Monkfish platter award: Jimmi Eriksson, Sweden
  • Social Commitment Award: Marcelo Hisaki, Mexico


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here